Access your Leader

Amberpet Constituency

Election Results for the year — 2018

Candidate Name Party
Votes Gained Votes % Result
KALERU VENKATESHAM Telangana Rashtra Samithi 61558
G.KISHAN REDDY Bharatiya Janata Party 60542
NIJJANA RAMESH Telangana Jana Samithi 4261
Telangana Rashtra Samithi Majority: 1016
Amberpet constituency is a complex mix of rural and very urban areas of Hyderabad. There are approximately 3,50,000 voters in this constituency. Along with Hindus the Muslim voters are also in big number here.

Since 2004 Kishan Reddy has been winning this seat from BJP and if he wins this time, it would be his fourth victory. About two terms ago, it was called as Himayatnagar constituency but post re-division in 2009 this came to be known as Amberpet and Kishan Reddy became the MLA.

Competing against him this time is TRS Candidate Kaleru Venkateswara Rao. The primary fight would between them.

In 2014 Kishan Reddy's opponent was Yedla Sudhakar Reddy from TRS and yet he won with a huge margin of 62,000 majority. Even senior Congress leader V Hanumantha Rao contested from this same place and he could not even recover his deposit.

Kishan Reddy is basically a mild leader and maintains least controversies is respected and loved in his constituency due to the fact that he has not been in news for the wrong reasons. He also has the credit of speaking in assembly about public issues maximum times.

This time, the fight seems almost one-sided and Amberpet will once again see Kishan Reddy as its MLA. Coming to the issues here, there is drinking water problem, Bathukamma Kunta issue. Few realtors encroached the lake which has become a major issue. Prior to bifurcation, Kishan Reddy played a crucial role by doing a 'Telangana Poru Yatra' for 22 days.

The Amberpet constituency has been BJP's stronghold for quite some time and it looks like this is going to be retained once again.

Election Results for the year — 2014

Candidate Name Party Total Votes Polled - 145606, Majority -
Votes Earned Votes % Result
G.Kishan Reddy Bharatiya Janata party 81430 55.90% Won
Aedla Sudhakar Reddy Telangana Rashtra Samithi 18832 12.90%
Naliganti Sharath Babu All India Majlis-E-Ittehadul Muslimoon 17536 12.00%